Officials & Committees of the General Assembly

Moderator of the General Assembly

The Moderator of the General Assembly of the United Free Church  is not the leader of the United Free Church of Scotland, nor is the Moderator the head of the Church: that belongs to Jesus Christ. The role is an honorary one, held for 12 months after chairing the General Assembly. He or she is ultimately responsible for travelling as a United Free Church representative in Scotland, other parts of the UK and overseas in an ambassadorial capacity. Every Moderator carries out a series of visits to several United Free Churches.
The Moderator  of the 2017 General Assembly is Rev Ian Boa and can be contacted at


Principal Clerks


The role of the Principal Clerks is to act as the Clerks to the General Assembly, which includes advising the Assembly and the Moderator on church practice and procedure.  They also serve as ex officio members of all the Committees of the General Assembly.

The Principal Clerks also supports the Moderator throughout the year as well as providing training courses and advice on practice and procedures to Kirk Sessions, Presbyteries, ministers and other church bodies.

Rev Martin Keane

The current Clerks are Rev Martin C Keane and Rev Colin C Brown.  Email:







General Secretary

The General Secretary of the United Free Church of Scotland provides the administrative support to the Committees of the General Assembly and the day to day administration of the wider denomination.
The current General Secretary Rev John Fulton who took up this role in 1994. Prior to that Mr Fulton was minister of Croftfoot United Free Church from 1977 until 1994.
Any questions, or communications should be addressed to the General Secretary, 11 Newton Place, Glasgow, G3 7PR.

Tel: 0141 332 3435 Fax 0141 333 1973

General Assembly Committees

Administration & Finance
Convener: Rev D Campbell Vice-Convener: Rev I Boa
Convener: Rev A Ford Vice-Convener: Mr A Scott
Convener: Rev G Barclay Vice-Convener: Mr A Rootes
Convener: Mr J Cross Vice-Convener: Rev N Owens
Christiain Education & Evangelism
Convener: Rev Dr D Miller Vice-Convener: Rev R Owens
Church & Society
Convener: Mr I Buchanan Vice-Convener: Rev E Worton
Ecumenical Relations
Convener: Rev. A Ritchie Vice-Convener: Rev A Deacons
Women's Home and Overseas Committee
Convener: Miss J Ramsay Vice-Convener:  Mrs I Martin
Ministry Development Worker
Rev. A Ritchie